A Day Dedicated to the Dead

IMG_20181020_170508-01
Today’s sunrise made the early awakening all worth-while.

It was honestly very hard for me to wake up so early because I knew I had no classes to attend, nor anything really urgent or important to attend. But today had an early wake-up call because we had to drive all the way to Manila to visit some cemeteries where my grandparents are buried. Our morning started at around 5:00 AM as we prepared for the trip, made and ate a heavy breakfast. By around 6:30 in the morning, we had already hit the IMG_20181030_103127_961-01road for our first destination: Eternal Gardens Cemetery in Caloocan, Metro Manila. This is where most of my relatives from the mother’s side are laid to rest; including my grandmother and grandfather, and 3 uncles. But before getting there, we had stopped by our aunties’ house in San Juan to pick them up first so we could go to the cemetery together.

After praying the rosary there and spending a few moments of silence, we already headed back to Quezon City to visit another deceased relative, this time in The Garden of the Divine Word Columbary. This is where the ashes of my dad’s uncle are stored.


Taking #CemeteryPhotos???

The columbary is found within the compound of the Christ the King Church and Seminary. I find the environment of this one the most relaxing and photogenic of all cemeteries I’ve ever been.


Where we ate…

After the traditional rite of prayers and so on, we had lunch out. I got quite excited because I knew that we were eating at my favorite restaurant in town. My family has been eating here for special occasions for as long as I can remember. We would always order the same stuff, but we try to give a shot at the new items in the menus every once and a while.

IMG_0213

IMG_0222

 

The Aglio Olio Pasta and White Cheese Pizza is a personal fave. It never fails to satisfy my love for shrimp in pasta, paired with the perfect dash of savory garlic flavor.  I would recommend this place for anyone who likes Italian cuisine. I’m not lying when I say that the food here is heaven-sent.


Last Stop: Loyola

The last cemetery we visited today was in Marikina City, called the Loyola Memorial Chapels and Crematorium. Here, we paid respects to my grandparents from my father’s side. Also found here are the remains of one of my dad’s sisters – one I’ve always heard stories of how kind she was and good she cooked, it’s sad that I didn’t even get to meet her because she died before I was born.


Today’s takeaway…

IMG_0204

If there’s something I learned or realized today, it’s that death may not be all the dark and depressing stuff we envision it to be. There might be a beauty to it that we fail to see; maybe because of the fears we have of it.

Leave a comment